SCCT 2023 Recap

< Back To Feed

With the annual SCCT conference fading into the rear-view mirror, we wanted to take a moment to review some of the highlights, and to celebrate the incredible work that the CCT community completed this year.

Abstract image of an artificial neural network creating a heart

Major Topics

Artificial Intelligence (AI) occupied a distinguished position at this year's gathering, with 13 vendors presenting products that have either secured FDA clearance or are in the pending phase, as reported by Cardiovascular Business1. The abundance of abstracts and poster presentations highlighting research on AI-driven algorithms further underscored significance of this technology in the future of cardiovascular CT.

In addition to the excellent research presented, an afternoon was dedicated to address the often-overlooked business aspects of cardiovascular CT programs1. These sessions were especially relevant as healthcare systems navigate a shift towards value-based payment models and grapple with challenges in reimbursement for CCT. Countering these challenges, with new research continually expanding the applications of cardiovascular CT, the opportunities for imaging centers are likewise broadening.

The Achenbach Pioneer Award

Named after SCCT founding member and first president Dr. Stephan Achenbach, this award is given to members who, through significant contribution to the field, have been recognized as “pioneers in the advancement of the technology”.

This year the SCCT named Willi A. Kalender, and Thomas G. Flohr as co recipients of the award. Over the course of their careers Dr. Kalender and Dr. Flohr have made many landmark contributions, including fundamental work on spiral, dual source, and photon counting CT. The recipients have also co-authored a book: “Kalender - Computed Tomography: Fundamentals, System Technology, Image Quality, Applications” which can be pre ordered here.

Read the full article here

The SCCT Gold Medal Award

This year's Gold Medal Award was given to Dr. Jeffrey Carr, who served as president of the SCCT from 2013 - 2014. The Gold Medal Award is meant to honor those who have “exemplified leadership and a record of commitment and contributions to SCCT’s mission”. In addition to his decade of service on the SCCT board of directors, Dr. Carr served on the editorial board for the JCCT, and has published over 270 scientific articles, with more than 34,000 citations.

Read the full article here

The Young Investigator Award

This year the SCCT presented 2 winners of the YIA award; Gavin Huangfu, MD, for development of a CT frailty score to predict mortality after TAVR and first runner-up Alexander Te-Wei Shieh for sex-specific assessment of pericoronary adipose tissue. The YIA recognizes new research from radiology residents and cardiology fellows in their first 5 years post training program.

Read the full article here

Best Abstracts Award

This year the SCCT had over 1000 attendees1 and received over 260 abstract submissions2. Such a robust body of research created a formidable task for the judges of the Best Abstract Award. After a rigorous selection process, the submissions were narrowed down to six distinguished finalists, from which three winners were ultimately chosen:

Teemu Maaniitty, MD, PhD - Prognostic Value Of A Novel Artificial Intelligence-based CCTA-derived Ischemia Algorithm In Patients With Suspected Coronary Artery Disease: Comparison Against Hybrid CCTA/PET Perfusion Imaging.
Borek Foldyna, MD - “Prognostic Significance Of Automated Epicardial Adipose Tissue Quantification From Lung Cancer Screening CT.”
Ben Duggan, MS - “Minimum Quantifiable Plaque Volume That Is Visually Detectable As Atherosclerosis Using Coronary Computed Tomography Angiography.”
Read the full article here

The energy and insights gleaned from this gathering undoubtedly set the stage for an exciting year ahead, reinforcing the CCT community's commitment to excellence, innovation, and patient care. Here's to the continued success and evolution of this exciting medical discipline!

SCCT 2023 Awards

< Back To Feed